While millions have heard the name of the great Indian yoga master, Paramhansa Yogananda and his bestselling book Autobiography of a Yogi, few realize he was also an accomplished poet, who published hundreds of deeply devotional prayer-poems in his lifetime.

Now, one of his disciples, inspired by the beauty of her guru’s writings, has chronicled her own personal explorations into the realm of spiritual seeking. The sixty poems, chants, and prayers offered by the author, are accompanied by the moving testimony she shares of her spiritual experiences as she grew deeper in understanding into the universal teachings behind all religions. Her clear, concise, and often humorous insights offer each of us a unique and profound opportunity to examine our own spiritual beliefs, misconceptions, and
inner journey, with fresh eyes and an open heart.

Sue Cooper

Author Sue Cooper was born in Liverpool, England in 1960.While raising her two children, Nicola and Matthew, she launched a successful career in horticulture and garden design. Fate soon played its hand when her husband, Michael, suffered a heart attack. His time in the hospital, observing Sue in the role of care giver, prompted him to nudge her back into nursing, a career she had given up when her children were born. She currently works as an Intensive Care nurse, and is also a spiritual healer, drawing from yogic healing techniques. In 2003 Sue and her husband were drawn to move to the Isle of Man, a small island in the middle of the Irish Sea, with an ancient spiritual legacy left by the Celts and Druids. She has recently, by popular demand, begun a Raja Yoga meditation group on the island. Inspired by teachings Paramhansa Yogananda, and the writings of several of his disciples including Swami Kriyananda, she began chronicling her own spiritual experiences in the form of poetry. Touching Soul is her first book.



  • All Joy to Be
  • Anguish
  • A Poem for Christmas
  • Belief
  • Between Two Worlds
  • Bit by Bit
  • Calm
  • Charity
  • Clouds
  • Divine Light
  • Holy Orders
  • I Walk Along a Moonlit Shore
  • Just Listen
  • Marching Toward Freedom
  • My Castle
  • One
  • One in a Thousand
  • Practicing Love
  • Roll Call
  • Sanaatan Dharma
  • Seven
  • Silence
  • The Bubble
  • The Deep
  • The Highway to Heaven
  • The Inner Smile
  • The Last Chapter
  • The Unknown Face
  • The River of Light
  • The Walking Dead
  • The Way of the Pilgrim
  • The Winding Way
  • Time
  • Truth
  • Winter’s Tale


  • Cosmic Love
  • Eternity
  • Ever Will I Seek Thee
  • For the Love of God
  • Guru
  • I Will Wait
  • Mother’s Love
  • No Going Back
  • O’, Lord Self
  • Self
  • Thank You
  • That’s Who I am
  • The Dove
  • Touching Soul
  • Why for Dost Thou Love Me


  • A Prayer for Us All
  • Dear God
  • Cross Swords
  • Guruji
  • O Come into My Temple, Lord
  • Satsanga
  • Why Me


  • A Chant to the Beloved
  • All is One
  • I am Knocking at Thy Door
  • O Mother Divine
  • Up and Down and All About



About the Author

I have no doubt, whatsoever, that the words in the pages following are divinely given and that I am in no way singled out to receive this work. We all have this latent ability. We just have to reawaken it.

Prior to my awakening, this life had always been very ordinary; averaging amongst the many until the realization that I was being unquestionably guided on a spiritual journey. My quest for truth began in earnest five years ago, but I was bemused by the myriad of teachings so easily accessed in books. After some time of frustration, through lack of true direction, simply, I put it to God, the Universe, the Source Intelligence or whatever one likes to call It to guide me to a true teacher.

No chance event brought me to where I am placed now.